Garth Peacock
A day of poor weather.

Archive

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbrisge WWT Gloucesterdhire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

That's the end of 2019 for me.

Friday 20th December 2019

Disaster strikes

Monday 2nd December 2019

It's still very hard work

Saturday 9th November 2019

A quiet month overall

Saturday 2nd November 2019

Week ending 11th October 2019

Friday 11th October 2019

A quiet week

Friday 4th October 2019

A week of mixed fortunes

Tuesday 1st October 2019

The final catch-up

Tuesday 10th September 2019

Post Romania

Wednesday 4th September 2019

Romania Day 7 - 14th June 2019

Saturday 17th August 2019

Romania Day 6 - 13th June 2019

Friday 16th August 2019

Romania Day 5 - 12th June 2019

Wednesday 24th July 2019

Romania Day 4 - 11th June 2019

Thursday 18th July 2019

Romania Day 3 - 10th June 2019

Tuesday 9th July 2019

View Blog Archive >>
Saturday 21st November 2015

Last Thursday was a day that I had planned for day out after nearly two weeks of being confined to the great indoors due to the weather not being conducive for photography. The forecast showed the best place was Norfolk so I headed there, early for me, arriving at Thornham about 9.30 - to heavy cloud and a strong wind.

This was a couple of hours before high tide and nothing was showing although a replica watches flock of Twite has been reported - most probably keeping low due to the wind. So I moved off, calling in at Brancaster Staithe - nothing, and Burnham Overy Staither where a Common Gull looked about as miserable as i was feeling.

My next subject was Pink-footed Geese at Lady Anne Drive Holkham - and sure enough. there was a flock well within range although the dull conditions necessitated high ISO. Thankfully, the wind had dropped so I took my time until the flock eventually flew off.

At times, there was some flying acivity, quite close in but the heavy cloud made rolex replica successful shots impossible.

Retracing my steps, I called at the harbour at Burham Overy Staithe but by then it was raining heavily so I moved on to Brancaster Staithe where the birds still looked cheesed off.

I was surprised to see a Great Crested Grebe close in to the water line. I have rarely seen one in salt water so worth a shot.

Missing out Titchwell due to the rain, I called in again at Thornham and sat watching a Curlew feeding and dealing with rather feisty crab

and ended the day, just prior to dusk at Hunstanton with a juvenile Herring Gull,

Far from exciting!!!