Garth Peacock
The start of a brief Indian Summer

Archive

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbrisge WWT Gloucesterdhire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

That's the end of 2019 for me.

Friday 20th December 2019

Disaster strikes

Monday 2nd December 2019

It's still very hard work

Saturday 9th November 2019

A quiet month overall

Saturday 2nd November 2019

Week ending 11th October 2019

Friday 11th October 2019

A quiet week

Friday 4th October 2019

A week of mixed fortunes

Tuesday 1st October 2019

The final catch-up

Tuesday 10th September 2019

Post Romania

Wednesday 4th September 2019

Romania Day 7 - 14th June 2019

Saturday 17th August 2019

Romania Day 6 - 13th June 2019

Friday 16th August 2019

Romania Day 5 - 12th June 2019

Wednesday 24th July 2019

Romania Day 4 - 11th June 2019

Thursday 18th July 2019

Romania Day 3 - 10th June 2019

Tuesday 9th July 2019

View Blog Archive >>
Tuesday 6th October 2015

It has taken me a while to process my recent images. The weather over the last week or so has been good so I have spent my time out in the field rather than on the computer. Now is the time to begin catching up.

Friday 25th September started off as a strange day. I had an appointment in Cambridge at replica watches uk 10.00am but is was cancelled at the last minute so, with very little locally to excite the senses, I decided on a quick dash to Norfolk. Starting off at the usual place, Thornham Marsh, I was surprised to see the harbour virtually devoid of water (very low tide) and no birds. With lunchtime rapidly approcahing, I drove to Brancaster Staithe for lunch in the car.

Parking up at the far end of the harbour car park, the only birds around were the usual Turnstones.

I was watching one walking around close in when my attention was taken briefly by a fly-by Sparrowhawk. Looking back for the Turnstone, it has disappeared. Certain it had not flown, I finally located it just a few yards from the car, 'hiding in plain site'. An excercise in camouflage.

I then noticed a pool with a Black-headed Gull bathing - couldn't resist a photo

and then joined by a Common Gull

which also spent some time bathing and then left.

Shorlty afterwards, a Great Black-backed-Gull also decided to bathe, this time arrogantly ambling in across the mud - well, if you are as big as that, you can afford to be arrogant.

After a very interesting hour, albeit with common species, I moved to Titchwell RSPB. rolex replica The water levels on the fresh marsh were very low and such a distance from the hide to make photographing small waders impossible - if there had been any.

Walking towards the beach, area, a Greenshank was feeding close in on the brackish marsh

with the majority of waders on the salt marsh. A Redshank bathing

A Bar-tailed Godwit looking very bored with life

and a Grey Plover feeding

With nothing on the beach, I retraced my steps and started to watch a couple of Black-tailed Godwits apparently sizing each other up.

and then a real fight started and continued on-and-off for 15/20 minutes

with the final 'coup-de-grace' ending the confrontation. Fascinating to see.

I couldn't resist a Little Egret feeding on the brackish marsh and looking good in the late afternoon sun.

So an unexpected day - better than I could have hoped for.

Lots more images in the Recent Additions section.