Garth Peacock
Spotted Flycatcher

Archive

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbrisge WWT Gloucesterdhire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

That's the end of 2019 for me.

Friday 20th December 2019

Disaster strikes

Monday 2nd December 2019

It's still very hard work

Saturday 9th November 2019

A quiet month overall

Saturday 2nd November 2019

Week ending 11th October 2019

Friday 11th October 2019

A quiet week

Friday 4th October 2019

A week of mixed fortunes

Tuesday 1st October 2019

The final catch-up

Tuesday 10th September 2019

Post Romania

Wednesday 4th September 2019

Romania Day 7 - 14th June 2019

Saturday 17th August 2019

Romania Day 6 - 13th June 2019

Friday 16th August 2019

Romania Day 5 - 12th June 2019

Wednesday 24th July 2019

Romania Day 4 - 11th June 2019

Thursday 18th July 2019

Romania Day 3 - 10th June 2019

Tuesday 9th July 2019

View Blog Archive >>
Tuesday 7th July 2015

My local bird club, the Cambridgeshire Bird Club is carrying out a census on Spotted Flycatcher nests in the county with one in particular, that I have been watching. I visited it a couple of weeks or so ago when both birds were very co-operative. Our co-ordinator inspected the nest the next day and it was empty. When I called back a day or so later, replica watches  there was only one bird on show and it was very nervous so I quickly left.

Last Thursday, while passing, I stopped to see what was going on. One bird showed well and after a short time, became very co-operative again.

I stayed for a while, just to see if there was any further activity. With one bird in my viewfinder, I noticed another flying in so I just pressed the trigger and kept it there for the 30 odd shots that the 7DMK2 will take before the buffer fills up. What a surprise when I looked to see what I had got - a complete session of the birds mating. Here is a short selection.

The male came in with a fly as an offering, mated, and then perched next to the female with it's 'gift' omega replica watches which the female was gladly accepting - and the male flew off with it. Not a gentlemanly thing to do!!

I then left feeling very lucky to have not only witnessed the event, but photographed it too.

The next day, I was sorting out the images on the computer when my wife called to say that a Thrush was in the back garden. We used to have a Song Thrush visiting regularly up to three years ago and since then, no sign of one and not even hearing the song locally so this was a very nice surprise. Camera out and a nice pose after it had exctricated a snail from it's shell and then flew off with it, obviously to feed some young.

It now returns daily, happily reducing the snail population of my garden for which I am very grateful. However, I ask myself how a Song Thrush could be nesting somewhere in the locality with young in the nest and I have never heard it singing before? Now I hear it frequently. Don't think my hearing has deteriorated that much!!!