Garth Peacock
Burwell Fen Cambridgeshire

Archive

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbrisge WWT Gloucesterdhire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

That's the end of 2019 for me.

Friday 20th December 2019

Disaster strikes

Monday 2nd December 2019

It's still very hard work

Saturday 9th November 2019

A quiet month overall

Saturday 2nd November 2019

Week ending 11th October 2019

Friday 11th October 2019

A quiet week

Friday 4th October 2019

A week of mixed fortunes

Tuesday 1st October 2019

The final catch-up

Tuesday 10th September 2019

Post Romania

Wednesday 4th September 2019

Romania Day 7 - 14th June 2019

Saturday 17th August 2019

Romania Day 6 - 13th June 2019

Friday 16th August 2019

Romania Day 5 - 12th June 2019

Wednesday 24th July 2019

Romania Day 4 - 11th June 2019

Thursday 18th July 2019

Romania Day 3 - 10th June 2019

Tuesday 9th July 2019

View Blog Archive >>
Tuesday 25th November 2014

 A few days ago, with Short-eared Owls showing well at mearby Burwell Fen, part of the National Trust's Wicken Fen, I went and drew a complete blank. Any Owls were much too distant and the light made a premature exit.

Yesterday, I paid a repeat visit with a sunny afternoon forecast. This place is very populat - there must have been 10/12 photographers there all patiently waiting. A couple of Short-eared Owls had made an appearance before I arrived at around 1.30pm but must have caught their lunch and settled down for a rest.

Finally, a couple made a distant show, one being mobbed by the usual Crow

swiss replica watches

but none came close enough for better images. Burwell Fen is large and where to stand for the best shots is pot luck. I took the rough road to the middle of the fen but hesitate to recommend anyone taking that route without a 4x4 ground clearance.

Then behind where I was standing, a ringtail Hen Harrier started to quarter the field

Still more distant than I would have liked but the 7D MK2 easily held focus on the flying bird.

Later on, after an hour or so of nothing, the same (or possibly another) made an appearance in the field in front of me

Once again, the 7D MK2 held focus brilliantly and out of a total of 98 flight shots taken, 92 were in focus and 88 were sharp - an excellent result for my level of flight shot expertise!!

Finally a shot I could not resist. In an adjacent field was a herd of Konic ponies and a flock oF Starlings decended to feed, just as the sun was setting, some using the ponies as look-out posts. The Konics totally ignored them.

Once again, many of these photographs would now have been possible with my old 7D, neither with the 5D MK3 - that is the test for me and the 7D MK2 has passed with flying colours.