Garth Peacock
Fen Drayton Starling roost

Archive

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbrisge WWT Gloucesterdhire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

That's the end of 2019 for me.

Friday 20th December 2019

Disaster strikes

Monday 2nd December 2019

It's still very hard work

Saturday 9th November 2019

A quiet month overall

Saturday 2nd November 2019

Week ending 11th October 2019

Friday 11th October 2019

A quiet week

Friday 4th October 2019

A week of mixed fortunes

Tuesday 1st October 2019

The final catch-up

Tuesday 10th September 2019

Post Romania

Wednesday 4th September 2019

Romania Day 7 - 14th June 2019

Saturday 17th August 2019

Romania Day 6 - 13th June 2019

Friday 16th August 2019

Romania Day 5 - 12th June 2019

Wednesday 24th July 2019

Romania Day 4 - 11th June 2019

Thursday 18th July 2019

Romania Day 3 - 10th June 2019

Tuesday 9th July 2019

View Blog Archive >>
Wednesday 19th November 2014

At the local RSPB reserve at Fen Drayton, the Starling roost was attacting many visitors so on Monday afternoon, I went to check it out. The Sunday roost was estimated at around 28,000 birds, not large compared with some in the country like the Somerset Levels where up to a million have been reported, but enough to make an impression.

Starling roost are best photographed against the sun setting in a clear sky but there was cloud on the horizon that was not ideal but after a while, the birds started to fly in and wheel in the sky before diving into the reeds to roost.

There has been some discussion on the local Cambirds site about the procedures for accurately counting such flocks of birds. I will not attempt to estimate the numbers in these images, nor in this one that I took particularly to post on the Cambridge Bird Club website to see if any one would attempt it.

So far no takers.