Garth Peacock
North Norfolk Again

Archive

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbrisge WWT Gloucesterdhire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

That's the end of 2019 for me.

Friday 20th December 2019

Disaster strikes

Monday 2nd December 2019

It's still very hard work

Saturday 9th November 2019

A quiet month overall

Saturday 2nd November 2019

Week ending 11th October 2019

Friday 11th October 2019

A quiet week

Friday 4th October 2019

A week of mixed fortunes

Tuesday 1st October 2019

The final catch-up

Tuesday 10th September 2019

Post Romania

Wednesday 4th September 2019

Romania Day 7 - 14th June 2019

Saturday 17th August 2019

Romania Day 6 - 13th June 2019

Friday 16th August 2019

Romania Day 5 - 12th June 2019

Wednesday 24th July 2019

Romania Day 4 - 11th June 2019

Thursday 18th July 2019

Romania Day 3 - 10th June 2019

Tuesday 9th July 2019

View Blog Archive >>
Friday 26th September 2014

With so little of real interest locally, I went to Cley Marshes NWT last Monday 22nd September to see what was about.

Arriving at Cley, I went into the first hide - nothing except for a few Teal loafing around so I took a coupls of shots to check exposure etc.

The a few Ruff made an appearance and a short contretemps ensued (Rugby players would call it handbags) so I took a few shots for the record.

Nothing else of interest happening, I went to the three centre hides - nothing within any range at all so I did not stay.

I have not been to Cley Marches for nearly a year and I was very disappointed with it. Perhaps I was there at a poor time but late September should have produced more than this.

I then moved to Salthouse, in the past, one of my favourite places. although I had been warned that it had been decimated by the winter floods and this proved to be true - very disappointing once again. Then seeing a few birders in a group on the other side at Granborough Hill I wandered over to be informed that a Barred Warbler was showing there so I stayed for a couple of hours and was well pleased with the results.

Calling in at other places on the way back along the coast road, they were crawling with boating people and walkers so nothing of interest there so with a very calm sunny evening, I decided to call in at Titchwell RSPB. Superb conditions with the water levels just down a fraction from last time but nothing came in close. Two Little Stints were distant.

That was the end of the day - thanks to the Barred Warbler, quite a good one but rubbish elsewhere.

The best thing of the week is that I have sold my 7D camera and have pre-ordered the 7D mk2 with probable delivery in November. I have read all the comments and it amazes me how anyone can criticise a camera and the quality of the images when they have not even seen one. Do they really know what they are talking about or are they damming something for the sake of it.

Anyway, I will let you know when I get it and let you have my comments which, at present, are that I think the spec is perfect for wildlife photographers hence my pre-order.

More Barred Warbler images in the Recent Additions section.