Garth Peacock
The last five days

Archive

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbrisge WWT Gloucesterdhire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

That's the end of 2019 for me.

Friday 20th December 2019

Disaster strikes

Monday 2nd December 2019

It's still very hard work

Saturday 9th November 2019

A quiet month overall

Saturday 2nd November 2019

Week ending 11th October 2019

Friday 11th October 2019

A quiet week

Friday 4th October 2019

A week of mixed fortunes

Tuesday 1st October 2019

The final catch-up

Tuesday 10th September 2019

Post Romania

Wednesday 4th September 2019

Romania Day 7 - 14th June 2019

Saturday 17th August 2019

Romania Day 6 - 13th June 2019

Friday 16th August 2019

Romania Day 5 - 12th June 2019

Wednesday 24th July 2019

Romania Day 4 - 11th June 2019

Thursday 18th July 2019

Romania Day 3 - 10th June 2019

Tuesday 9th July 2019

View Blog Archive >>
Friday 4th July 2014

A relatively quiet week, starting with a hushed-up trip to see some Black-necked Grebes that had just hatched one chick. Suffice to say that the location is strictly under wraps because there are signs that the pair are already looking for a second brood - and is is a Schedule 1 bird.

Buy now our omega replica watches save up 50% OFF and free shipping. Click our online store buy the best hot rolex replica watches online.

Anyway, an excellent opportunity and I was pleased with the replica rolex watches shots.

Yesterday, I decided to go to Ouse Washes RSPB for the first ever sighting of a family of Ring-necked Parakeets in Cambridgeshire. There have been reports during the winter of one being seen around Cambridge but this is an odd place for them to breed.

Best Quality longines replica watches for man. buy the best hot breitling replica watches for man.

Ring-necked Parakeets are very distictive by their raucous call and, frustratingly, I could hear them in a paddock over a high hedge but never saw one.

Heading towards the WWT reserve at Welney, the road goes through a small hamlet called Tipps End. It is right on the borders of Cambridgeshire and Norfolk and I cannot find out which county it is in so i have put it in Cambs. If I am wrong, someone will soon let me know.

Our online store longines replica watches for sale. Buy now save up 50% and free shipping. Buy iwc replica watches for man.

As I drove though, I noticed feverish activity by some House Martins so I stopped to see and they were collecting mud from a puddle by the roadside. Can never resist an opportunity for some photos.

With the cloud setting in and getting windy, I made my way home but, just outside Pymore village, on a pile of soil close to the road, a Lapwing was showing. I took some shots from the road but, despite being a flighty species (in my experience) it showed no signs of moving so I pulled the car to within 30 feet and it stayed put providing me with some full frame shots.

It then beacme apparent why it stayed as, after a while, this little chap appeared.

Overall a very fruitful week.

More images in the Recent Additions section.