Garth Peacock
Mistley Essex

Archive

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbrisge WWT Gloucesterdhire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

That's the end of 2019 for me.

Friday 20th December 2019

Disaster strikes

Monday 2nd December 2019

It's still very hard work

Saturday 9th November 2019

A quiet month overall

Saturday 2nd November 2019

Week ending 11th October 2019

Friday 11th October 2019

A quiet week

Friday 4th October 2019

A week of mixed fortunes

Tuesday 1st October 2019

The final catch-up

Tuesday 10th September 2019

Post Romania

Wednesday 4th September 2019

Romania Day 7 - 14th June 2019

Saturday 17th August 2019

Romania Day 6 - 13th June 2019

Friday 16th August 2019

Romania Day 5 - 12th June 2019

Wednesday 24th July 2019

Romania Day 4 - 11th June 2019

Thursday 18th July 2019

Romania Day 3 - 10th June 2019

Tuesday 9th July 2019

View Blog Archive >>
Thursday 1st March 2012

A sudden inspiration took me to Mistley on the Stour estuary. Weather looked reasonable and high tide was late afternoon with little wind. I didn't shoot anything until 2.30pm and finished at 4.30 pm but the weather was perfect – weather forecasters correct for a change!

My main target was Pintail, a species that has eluded me so far but they stayed out in the estuary until late in the rolex replica reviews day. Gulls were the main attraction initially with the odd Lesser Black-backed Gull amongst the hundreds of Black-headed Gulls.

Shelduck followed the tide in allowing some interesting shots

About 60 Black-tailed Godwits also came in with the tide, roosting on the muddy islands until the tide pushed them elsewhere.

Finally my target species, Pintail, came within photographable range replica watches with a pair coming in relatively close to feed

More photos from my Mistley trip under Recent Additions page.

With grateful thanks to Chris Upson for his directions and tips that helped to make a very successful afternoon.